Trudeau Logo

Quick Access to Subsections:

OBJECTIVES

TOOLS

         - Indigenous Ingenuity exhibit

         - Climate Tactics online game 

PARTNERS

DOCUMENTS RELATED TO THE PROJECT

 

 Logo by Stephen Gladue

Objectives:

The main objective of Acting on Climate Change: Indigenous Innovations is to forward cross-cultural learning on climate change mitigation and adaptation that makes meaningful progress towards Reconciliation in Canada, recognizing the leadership of Indigenous cultures with respect to sustainability as a key element of their relationship with the environment.

To reach this objective, there are three specific goals: 

(1) Share Indigenous climate change and sustainability success stories in Canada with other Indigenous peoples and with Indigenous leaders.

(2) Inform the general Canadian public about Indigenous peoples’ leadership and innovation in climate and sustainability action.

(3) Use these success stories to inform policy recommendations to all other levels of government (federal, provincial/regional and municipal) to support culturally-relevant, evidence-based climate decision-making informed by Indigenous traditional knowledge.

Tools: 

Climate Action Youth Ambassador Program 

Recognizing the importance of training the next generation of Indigenous leaders, Indigenous Youth Ambassadors will be recruited and participate in a holistic training program focused on leadership, culture, jurisdiction, reconciliation and climate action as well as basic filmmaking and investigative journalism techniques. Our first trainings occurred in Western Canada in Summer 2017, and Northern Canada in Fall 2017. 

Western Canada

Watch the video below summarising the Western Canada training. For more information, visit the Facebook page!

 

 

Northern Canada

In Northern Canada, the Climate Action Youth Ambassador Program joined forces with the Yukon Indigenous Community Climate Change Champion (YIC4) training event held in Whitehorse, November 27–30th, 2017. YIC4 welcomed 25 Indigenous youth from across the Yukon as well as four guest youth from NWT and Nunatsiavut. The training, hosted by the Arctic Institute of Community-Based Research, focused on building a strong foundation of Indigenous and scientific knowledge about the causes and effects of and adaptation strategies for climate change. Dr. Catherine Potvin, Dene Elder Francois Paulette from the Northwest Territories, Champagne and Aishihik First Nations Elders Mary Jane Jim and Chuck Hume, Kluane First Nation's Mary Jane Johnson, and Elder Richard Wilson from Haida Gwaii, were invited as Indigenous and non-Indigenous trainers. 

The youth worked on individual plans for conducting a community assessment and built their tools which they will implement, with the support of AICBR, in the New Year. In Summer of 2018, they will come back together with their assessment work and continue developing their leadership and community-based research skills. For more on the project, please visit: www.aicbr.ca/yic4 or contact Norma Kassi at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


unnamed
 

Derrick Redies from Ross River, Yukon and Bobbi Rose from Fort McPherson, NWT, addressing participants and guests from an Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada Community-Based Monitoring forum as well as invited dignitaries, Minister of Community Services (as well as Minister responsible for French Language Services Directorate and the Yukon Liquor Corporation/Yukon Lottery Commission) John Streicker and Minister of Environment and Minister of Health and Social Services (as well as Minister responsible for the Yukon Housing Corporation) Pauline Frost of the Yukon Legislative Assembly. 

unnamed 2 

 Artist Heidi Marion’s depiction of Dr. Catherine Potvin’s talk about climate change mitigation. 

Montreal Science Centre collaboration

Indigenous Ingenuity exhibit 

Developed by the Montreal Science Centre, a federal museum, Indigenous Ingenuity is showcasing some of the Indigenous climate change initiatives from October 2017 to March 2018 in Montreal. The exhibit could travel across Canada over the next five years in two formats: large scale for cities and small scale for community centres. 

Climate Tactics online game

Interested in teaching kids about climate action in Canada? Help the Trickster save the polar bear by learning about Indigenous initiatives in climate change in Climate Tactics, an online game produced by the Science Centre, featuring 30 projects from our database! 

Climate Tactics

Database

We have begun documenting existing, inspiring Indigenous climate change and sustainability initiatives throughout Canada in a database that will be made publicly accessible via an interactive web tool [forthcoming]. Some results: 

Renewable Energy Circle

Examples of climate initiatives developed by communities and shared with Indigenous Innovations:

 

If your Nation or community is taking action on climate change and wants to share its initiatives, contact Divya Sharma, Coordinator, Acting on Climate Change: Indigenous Innovations, at divya.sharma2{at}mcgill.ca 

Partners: 

The project is steered by Norma Kassi (co-Chair), Arctic Institute of Community-Based Research and Catherine Potvin (co-Chair), McGill University, as well as Catherine Béland, First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Sustainable Development Institute, Eli Enns, POLIS Project, and Tonio Sadik, Assembly of First Nations, under the auspices of the UNESCO-McGill Chair for Dialogues on Sustainability. The project coordinator is Divya Sharma, McGill University

Acting on Climate Change: Indigenous Innovations is a project of Dr. Potvin's Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Fellowship, awarded in 2016. 

 

CommitteeCoordinator4

 

Documents related to project:                                                                    

Project concept note

Trudeau Fellowship proposal submitted

Letter of support for proposal from Assembly of First Nations

Letter of support for proposal from First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Sustainable Development Institute

Presentation at Centre for Indigenous Conservation and Development Alternatives

Letters of agreement for sharing information on communities available upon request.

Accès rapides aux sous-sections :

Trudeau Logo

OBJECTIFS

OUTILS 

         - Exposition de Génie autochtone 

         - Jeu de Climato Tactique

PARTENAIRES

DOCUMENTS EN LIEN AVEC LE PROJET

 Logo par: Stephen Gladue 

Objectifs :

L'objectif principal d'Agir sur les changements climatiques : Innovations autochtones est de transmettre l'apprentissage interculturel sur l'atténuation de et l'adaptation aux changements climatiques qui effectue des progrès significatifs vers la Réconciliation au Canada, en reconnaissant le leadership des cultures autochtones en ce qui concerne le développement durable comme un élément clé de leur relation avec l'environnement.  

Pour atteindre ces objectifs, on a trois buts spécifiques:

(1) Partager les réussites autochtones en matière de changements climatiques et de durabilité au Canada avec d’autres peuples autochtones et avec des dirigeants autochtones. 

(2) Informer le grand public canadien du leadership et de l’innovation des peuples autochtones en matière de climat et de durabilité.

(3) Utiliser ces exemples de réussite pour formuler des recommandations politiques à tous les autres ordres de gouvernement (fédéral, provinciaux / régionaux et municipaux) afin d’appuyer la prise de décisions sur le climat basée sur des données factuelles, culturellement pertinente et fondée sur les connaissances traditionnelles autochtones.

Outils : 

Programme de jeunes ambassadeurs et ambassadrices autochtones de l'action climatique 

Reconnaissant l’importance de former la prochaine génération de dirigeants autochtones, nous allons recruter des jeunes Ambassadeurs et Ambassadrices autochtones qui participeront à un programme de formation holistique axé sur le leadership, la culture, la juridiction, la réconciliation et l’action climatique, ainsi que sur les techniques de base du cinéma et du journalisme d’enquête. Nos premières formations ont eu lieu dans l'ouest du Canada à l'été 2017, et le nord du Canada à l'automne 2017. 

L'Ouest du Canada

Regardez la vidéo ci-dessous résumant la formation dans l'ouest du Canada. Pour plus d'informations, visitez la page Facebook!

 

Le Nord du Canada

Dans le Nord du Canada, le Programme de jeunes ambassadeurs et ambassadrices autochtones de l'action climatique s'est joint à l'événement de formation des champions des changements climatiques de la communauté autochtone du Yukon (YIC4) tenu à Whitehorse, du 27 au 30 novembre 2017. YIC4 a accueilli 25 jeunes autochtones de partout au Yukon ainsi que quatre invités jeunes des TNO et du Nunatsiavut. La formation, organisée par Arctic Institute of Community-Based Research (AICBR), était axée sur l'établissement d'une base solide de connaissances autochtones et scientifiques sur les causes et les effets des stratégies d'adaptation aux changements climatiques. Mme Catherine Potvin, ainsi que l'aînée dénée Francois Paulette des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Mary Jane Jim et Chuck Hume des Premières nations de Champagne et Aishihik, Mary Jane Johnson de la Première nation de Kluane et Richard Wilson de Haida Gwaii ont été invités comme formateurs autochtones et non autochtones.

Les jeunes ont travaillé sur des plans individuels pour mener une évaluation communautaire et ont construit leurs outils qu'ils mettront en œuvre, avec le soutien de l'AICBR, dans la nouvelle année. À l'été 2018, ils reviendront avec leur travail d'évaluation et continueront à développer leurs compétences en leadership et en recherche communautaire. Pour en savoir plus sur le projet, visitez le site www.aicbr.ca/yic4 ou communiquez avec Norma Kassi à Cette adresse courriel est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser..

unnamed

Derrick Redies de Ross River (Yukon) et Bobbi Rose de Fort McPherson (TN-O.) s'adressent aux participants et aux invités d'un forum de surveillance communautaire d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada ainsi qu'à des dignitaires invités, le ministre des Services communautaires (ministre responsable des Direction des services linguistiques et Société des alcools du Yukon / Commission des loteries du Yukon) John Streicker et ministre de l'Environnement et ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux (ainsi que ministre responsable de la Société d'habitation du Yukon) Pauline Frost de l'Assemblée législative du Yukon.

unnamed 2Le portrait du discours de Mme Catherine Potvin sur l'atténuation des changements climatiques par l'artiste Heidi Marion. 

 

Collaboration avec le Centre des sciences de Montréal 

Génie autochtone

Une exposition élaborée par le Centre des sciences de Montréal, un musée fédéral, Génie autochtone : des inventions toujours actuelles présente les initiatives de la base de données entre octobre 2017 et mars 2018 à Montréal. L’exposition pourrait traverser le Canada au cours des cinq prochaines années dans deux formats : à grande échelle pour les villes et à petite échelle pour les centres communautaires. 

Climato Tactique

Aimeriez-vous éduquer aux enfants sur l'action climatique au Canada? Aidez le Trickster à sauver l'ours polaire en apprenant sur les initiatives autochtones en changements climatiques dans Climato Tactique, un jeu en ligne produit par le Centre des sciences de Montréal qui présente 30 initiatives de la base de données! 

Climato tactique ecran

Base de données 

Nous avons commencé à documenter les initiatives existantes et inspirantes sur les changements climatiques et le développement durable partout au Canada dans une base de données qui sera rendue public par le biais d’un outil web interactif. Voici quelques résultats :

Renewable Energy Circle2

Exemples d'initiatives communautaires en lien avec les changements climatiques partagées avec Innovations autochtones :  

 

 

Si votre Nation ou communauté met en place des actions sur les changements climatiques et vous voulez les partager avec nous, contactez Divya Sharma, Coordinatrice, Agir sur les changements climatiques : Innovations autochtones, au divya.sharma2{at}mcgill.ca  

Partenaires :

Agir sur les changements climatiques : Innovations autochtones est un projet dirigé par Norma Kassi (co-chaire), Arctic Institute of Community-Based Research et Catherine Potvin (co-chaire), l'Université McGill, ainsi que Catherine Béland, l'Institut de développement durable des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador, Eli Enns, POLIS Project, et Tonio Sadik, l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, sous les auspices du UNESCO-McGill Chair for Dialogues on Sustainability. La coordinatrice du projet est Divya Sharma, l'Université McGill

Agir sur les changements climatiques: Innovations autochtones est un projet du Prix de recherche de la Fondation Pierre Elliott Trudeau attribué à Catherine Potvin en 2016. 

CommitteeCoordinator4

 

Documents en lien avec le projet : 

Note conceptuelle du projet

Proposition du projet Trudeau [en anglais]

Lettre d'appui de l'Institut de développement durable des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador [en anglais]

Lettre d'appui de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations [en anglais]

Présentation au Centre pour la conservation et le développement autochtones alternatifs [en anglais]

Des lettres d'entente pour le partage d'informations sur les communautés disponibles sur demande.